Your PTA Board and Programs

PS 107 is proud to have an active and vital Parent Teacher Association (PTA). The PTA is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization that works to enhance our school community by raising money, organizing events and educational programs, and providing information to parents.

All PS 107 parents/guardians are members of the PTA and are encouraged to participate by attending PTA monthly meetings and volunteering on Parent Involvement Committees.

An eleven-member Board of parent volunteers, elected yearly, oversees the PTA’s activities. PTA Monthly Meetings are typically the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:30pm, with a recap (non-voting) meeting the next morning (Friday) after dropoff. Meeting dates are posted on the school calendar. Parents can also sign up on Konstella to receive weekly email updates from the PTA.

The PTA oversees a variety of Parent Involvement Committees. Committees are open to all parents/guardians and your involvement is encouraged and appreciated!

 

PROGRAMS

Your PTA dollars help materialise a lot of amazing things! Things that make PS 107 such a special place….Here’s a list of things that your donations are funding. All committee chairs work with teachers and the administration to ensure that all residencies and field trips complement the curriculum and enrich students’ academic experiences at PS 107. Please donate to keep all this programming funded for the future.

 

Arts Enrichment

Brooklyn Museum of Art residency (K & 1st)
Together in Dance residency (1st)
Architecture residency (2nd)
Mark Morris modern dance residency (2nd)
Story Pirates residency (2nd, 3rd, 4th)
African Dance with Alvin Ailey residency (3rd)
Ballroom Dance with Dancing Classrooms residency (4th)
Shakespeare Creative Stages residency (5th)
Field trips to live theater performances (all grades)
Family Art Day

 

Science Enrichment
Science field trips (k-2nd)
Trout raising in the science lab (3rd-5th)
Clearwater Sailing Trip (4th)
Math & Science Day

 

Social Studies Enrichment
The Old Stone House Field Trip (K)
The Transit Museum Field Trip (k)
Brooklyn Children’s Museum Field Trip (k)
Bishop Boardman Field Trip (1st)
Transit Museum Field Trip (1st)
NY Historical Society In house Field Trip (2nd)
Wyckoff Farm House Field Trip (2nd)
Africa Day (3rd)
Hindu Temple Field Trip (3rd)
Museum of Chinese in America Field Trip (3rd)
Old Stone House – Colonial Program Field Trip (4th)
New Amsterdam Walking Tour Field Trip (4th)
Old Stone House – Battle of Brooklyn Field Trip (4th)
Old Bethpage Village Field Trip (4th)
Revolutionary War Walking Tour Field Trip (4th)
Tenement Museum Field Trip (5th)
United Nations Tour Field Trip (5th)
Heritage Day

 

Math Enrichment
Professional development (Exemplars) for all teachers
Dreambox online learning software
 

Physical Education
2nd grade swim
Gym equipment as needed

 

Green and Healthy 107
The famous PS 107 Sunshine Garden (garden and food education for all students)
Compostable Lunch Trays
Zero Waste Recycling Program
3rd Grade Recycling “Green Team”
Harvest Day: Celebrating the Sunshine Garden and healthy eating

 

Library
Library books available to all students
Multiple Author visits per grade per year (Past authors have included Johan Olander, Isabel Hill, Nan Richardson, Dan Poblocki, Brett Helquist, Noel MacNeal, and Doreen Cronin.)

 

Classroom Grants
Up to $300 per teacher annually for supplies or other classroom needs.

 

Principal’s Request
A fund to help pay for things the school needs that are not provided by the DOE.
Teacher’s Assistants
Professional Development

 

Lice Checks
4 professional lice checks per year to keep lice at bay.

 

PTA Business
Parent/Family Handbook
ps107.org website
Konstella Parent Portal
Copying & Printing
Event Support
Teacher Appreciation Luncheon
Welcome & Volunteer Breakfasts
5th Grade graduation & T-shirts
Trip buses & tolls
Accounting & banking fees
Pizza and childcare for PTA meetings

PTA Board

President: Leigh Smith leigh@ps107.org

Annual Fund : Jenara Prieto jenara@ps107.org

Treasurer: Ellen Jan ellen@ps107.org

Co-Treasurer: David Kausch david@ps107.org

Communications: Rebecca Calvani rebecca@ps107.org

Co-Communications: Deepika Sankaran dee@ps107.org

Lower Grade Representative: Cathy Cambell Cathy@ps107.org

Auction: Brandie Krulik brandie@ps107.org

Fall Festival: Michelle Foster michelle@ps107.org

Community Events: Angela Kurzawa angela@ps107.org

Fundraising Committees: Stephanie Hochman stephanie@ps107.org

Community Partnerships: Bobby Markowitz bobby@ps107.org

Green & Healthy Director: Kate Gitnick kate@ps107.org